News Release

  6500 East Arapahoe Road, Boulder, CO 80301

For Immediate Release

​BVSD Communications - 720-561-5824


National Merit Semifinalists Named for 2019

38 BVSD students make list for scholarship competition

The names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program were announced in September by officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, worth about $31 million, that will be offered next spring.

Boulder Valley School District is pleased to announce the names of our 38 semifinalists:

Boulder High School

Tor Holck

Louis Jaeckle

Kenneth Jew

Milo Lewon

Riley Oxnard

Hendrik Peters

Irby Wilcox-O'Hearn

Suhana Zeutzius

Broomfield High School

Shu Yuh (Sherry) Nyeo

Centaurus High School

Kira Biener

Allison Macdonald

Aidan O'Connell

Jack Stade

Samantha Webb

Fairview High School

Jaron Berman

Seth Berman

Chloe Brasket

Annika Dombrowski

Elia Gorokhovsky

Ian Greene

Vanessa Haggans

Stanislav Irisov

Samuel Jarvis

Shreyas Kadekodi

Cynthia Lin

John Parker

Connor Parkes

Sophie Woods

Aaron Yang

Youngbin Yoon

Monarch High School

Jessica Hannebert

Grace Wade-Stein

Peak to Peak Charter School
Naomi Burns

Capri Huffman

Isabella Sicker

William "Kai" Stahoviak

Isaac Van Tol

Brian Wee

BVSD congratulates all of these 38 semifinalists and wishes them success in the next stage of the competition.

Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

The students and the school will be notified by mid-February of their selection as a National Merit Finalist.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements. Learn more at the National Merit website -

# # #